top of page
  • Writer's pictureLust for Life

Low Carb (Keto) Sausage Gravy and Cheddar Biscuits

Updated: Feb 17, 2021


Tonight’s dinner turned out much better than I thought it would... lol.


And that’s a lot coming from this girl who’s go to cooking style is good ol’ southern cooking!

I thought the biscuits were good and very biscuit-like in texture. I may add a little more cheddar next time. For tomorrow’s lunch I’m going to use a leftover biscuit and make a cheesesteak sandwich.


Let me know if you try this recipe or any others that I’ve posted. If you’re on the same journey please share your recipes and tag me, we can encourage each other!

(Next time I will reduce the chicken broth and add more heavy cream. My normal recipe is very creamy and rich.

Important Note: I found out that I actually have a negative reaction to xanthum gum, please be mindful of trying new ingredient.





 

Low Carb (Keto) Sausage Gravy and Cheddar Biscuits


Low Carb Cheddar Biscuits:

1/4 cup Melted butter

4 large Eggs

1/3 cup Coconut flour

1/4 teaspoon Salt

1/4 teaspoon Baking powder

1 cup Shredded cheddar cheese


Low Carb Sausage Gravy:

1 pound Ground sausage

1 cup Chicken broth

1 1/4 cup Heavy cream

1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum, this is a thickening agent (I bought mine at Wegman’s)

Salt and pepper to taste


Pre-heat ove to 400F. Line a baking pan with parchment, a silicone baking mat, or spray with cooking spray. Add all of the biscuit ingredients to a large bowl and stir to combine. Scoop the batter using a 3 tbsp scoop or spoon out 3 tablespoon’s worth of batter for each biscuit. Place them 2 inches apart on the baking sheet. Makes 6 biscuits.


Bake in the oven for 15 minutes or until golden brown. Remove and set aside.


While the biscuits are cooking, make the gravy. In a large skillet, brown and crumble the sausage over medium-high heat until it is cooked through. Add the chicken broth, cream, and xanthan gum. Stir to combine. Bring to a simmer, reduce the heat to low, and continue to simmer until the gravy is thick. Season with salt and pepper. Remove from heat.


To serve, cut the biscuits in half and spoon gravy onto biscuits. Store any leftovers in an airtight container in the refrigerator.


Original recipe here;



 

9 views0 comments

コメント

コメントが読み込まれませんでした。
技術的な問題があったようです。お手数ですが、再度接続するか、ページを再読み込みしてださい。
bottom of page