top of page
  • lustforlifelowcarb

Lower Carb Rustic Sopa de Fideo


I’ve never actually tried this soup before, but I have been researching multiple recipes to learn more about it. It sounded like a simple, but flavorful comforting soup. So last night I gave it a shot.…. And boy was I pleasantly surprised by the addictive flavor of the broth and the Al dente texture of the noodles. Usuaslly when I make a noodle soup I seperate the noodles out or cook them separately. I really can’t stand the texture of a soggy noodle and don’t always enjoy the starchibess it adds to the soup. Even the following day the texture and integrity of the noodle held up. I’ll have to try to sauté pasta for other soups like this again and hope I get the same result. This may be my new life changing soup hack! A number of recipes I read called for the tomatoes and onions to be belended quickly prior to making the soup, but honestly I was too hungry to wait so ergo rustic Sopa de Fideo. Also to make it lower carb I used Dreamfield spaghetti noodles.


Lower Carb Rustic Sopa de Fideo


1/2 Onion, diced fine

2 med cloves of Garlic, crushed

2 TB Olive oil

2 14.5 oz cans Petite Diced Tomatoes, diced a little more

32 oz Vegetable Broth*

2-3 cubes of Knorr Caldo de Tomate bouillon

2 TB Olive oil

7 oz Dreamfield spaghetti noodles, broken into 1” pieces

Pepper


  1. In a large soup pot sauté broken pasta in olive oil for 2-3 mins or till golden brown.

  2. Remove pasta and set aside.

  3. In the same pan add onion and garlic using the leftover olive oil, you can add more olive oil if needed.

  4. Add tomatoes, pepper, and vegetable broth

  5. Bring to a slight boil, add bouillon, boil for 2 mins making sure to dissolve the bouillon in the soup.

  6. Add noodles. Turn down the heat to a high simmer or a low boil for 7-10 mins, till noodles are tender.

  7. May need to add a tiny bit of water as the bouillon flavor will increase as it cooks.

Makes 7 servings with 20 net carbs per bowl.

*You can also use Chicken broth, I used vegetable broth because it’s what I had on hand.

108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page