top of page
  • lustforlifelowcarb

Lower Carb Chicken Verde Soup




I have a great love for all foods that are Mexican or Southwest inspired! Chicken verde Enchiladas are probably one of my favorite dishes along with Chicken Verde Tamales. I love the tartness and freshness of the tomatillos and green chilies in a good verde or green sauce.

I am also somewhat of a soup addict... if you couldn't tell by my many soup recipes.

So to take these 2 things I love and create a comforting warm soup is just what I'm looking for on any given day.

I also make a Spicy Chicken Red Enchilada soup and wanted to create this one for a different flavor option.

I call this lower carb and not low carb because of the beans I added, but honestly beans are good for you and I did keep the amount on the lower side.

If you want the soup to be even more low carb only add half a can or omit all together. Completely removing the ingredient will save you about 5.5 net carbs per serving.


2 TB olive oil

1-2 cloves, garlic crushed

1 small Yellow Onion, sliced or chopped thin

Pinch Red Chili flakes

1 28oz can Los Palmas Green Enchilada Sauce

1 6oz can chopped, Green Chilies

6oz can Herdez Verde Salsa

4 cups Chicken Broth

1-2 TB Chicken Better than Bouillon

1 14 oz can Del Monte Southwest Corn, undrained

1 14oz can Bush's Cannilini beans, undrained

Salt and pepper

2 boneless Chicken breast, sliced into thin strips

2 TB Lime juice


Chopped Green onion

Mexican Crema

Cilantro

Sliced Jalapeño

Extra lime juice



  1. Slice the boneless Chicken into thin strips and season with salt and pepper. Set aside.

  2. In a large saucepan heat up olive oil, add garlic, red chili flakes, and onion.  Sauté till slightly transparent, but don’t brown.

  3. Add Green enchilada sauce, chicken broth, bouillon, salsa verde, and green chilies. Dump in canned beans and corn. Add salt and pepper to taste. Bring to a low boil and let simmer for 15 mins.

  4. Turn up the heat again just a little when it gets to a high simmer, add the chicken breasts and cook for 3-5 mins till cooked through.

  5. Remove from heat and add lime juice.

  6. Serve hot with optional toppings: green onions, cilantro, jalapeño, and Crema. I also like to add a little additional lime juice to my bowl for the extra kick!



Approximate Nutritional Information

Servings:   8

Calories:     169

Net Carbs:     16.8

Total Carbs:    22.8

Protein:  14.6

Fiber:    6


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page