top of page
  • lustforlifelowcarb

Low Carb Tortilla Soup

If I haven’t said it before today... I absolutely LOVE soup! As soon as the fall season hits I make soup every week, sometimes 2-3 times a week. Lol. Today I made Zuppa Toscano and this little gem pictured below. I’m proud to say this is completely my own creation and it turned out really good! It has great depth and flavor to it, without being bitter or too heavy. Definitely a different flavor profile for me, but I enjoyed the outcome and Lindsey loved it too!


Low Carb Chicken Tortilla Soup


2-3 Boneless, Chicken breasts

4 c Chicken broth, I make my own so it has great flavor

2-3 TB butter

1 Lrg Onion, chopped

2 tsp Garlic, minced

1 TB Cumin

1/2 TB Chili

1 TB Paprika

1 tsp Coriander

1 tsp Oregano

1 tsp Salt

1/2 tsp Pepper

1 TB Worcestershire sauce

2 tsp better than bouillon chicken

1 can petite Diced tomatoes

1 can Rotel original Tomatoes w/ green chilies

2-3 TBs chipotle refried beens

2 TB Tomato paste

2 ears summer corn, cut off the cob or 1 can Corn

1 TB Lime juice

3/4 - 1 cup Heavy cream


Optional Toppings:

Cilantro

Shredded cheese

Green onions

Fried low carb tortilla strips

Sour cream


Melt butter in a large pot. Sauté onion, garlic till translucent. Add tomato paste, sauté for 1-2 minutes. Then add seasonings chili, cumin, oregano, paprika, coriander, salt and pepper. Sauté till fragrant. Add broth, tomatoes, Rotel, Worcestershire sauce, and bouillon. and lime juice.


Simmer for 20-25 mins. Add corn, lime juice and thinly sliced chicken breast. Simmer 10- 15 more mins till chicken cooked completed.


Turn off heat leave on warmer. Stir in heavy cream.

Add optional toppings if you like.


Total Carbs:

Approximately total- 85

Approximately Per serving- 8-9.


15 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


micah.ewart1
Feb 26, 2021

This looks so good!! Without a doubt gonna try this one!

Like
bottom of page