top of page
  • lustforlifelowcarb

Low Carb Shrimp Creole

Updated: Sep 18, 2022


We live in a very small town in Northern MD that is very active with lots of events going on throughout year. Last night our downtown area was blocked off for our annual Mardi Gras & Fat Tuesday parade. Even though I walked away with a neck full of beads the event is 100% G-rated… all I had to do was wave and smile! We really enjoyed ourselves and I was inspired to try my hand at a low carb Creole dish and this is what I came up with For tonight’s dinner. I let the Rotel tomatoes provide the heat for the dish since my family isn’t a big fan of spicy dishes. However I am, so of course I added additional hot sauce to my dish. I can’t wait to eat leftovers tomorrow to see how the flavors marry overnight for an even deeper richer dish. The konjac rice is definitely a huge win for me. I usually heat it up in a large skillet to cook off most of the moisture. Sometimes I may add 1-2 spoonfuls of real rice to the Konjac rice for an better texture for the dish.




Low Carb Shrimp Creole

4 Tablespoons butter 1 large onion , diced 2 stalks celery , diced 1/2 green bell pepper , diced 2 cloves garlic , minced 1 teaspoon salt 1/2 teaspoon fresh thyme ½ teaspoon black pepper

1 TB Paprika

1 tsp oregano ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper, optional 1 Tablespoon flour 1 15 oz can diced tomatoes

1 oz can Rotel tomatoes and green chilies

1 1/3 cup chicken stock

3-4 shakes of Lea and Perrins Worcestershire sauce 2 bay leaves Hot pepper sauce, such as Tabasco or Old Bay hot sauce, to taste 1 1/2 lb jumbo uncooked Tiger shrimp, peeled and deveined 1 pkg Better than Rice brand of Konjac Rice 2 green onions , chopped, for garnish


Instructions

  1. Add butter to a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion, celery, bell pepper, and garlic and sauté until veggies are lightly browned.

  2. In a small bowl whisk together the thyme, paprika, oregano, salt, pepper, and flour. Stir into onion mixture and cook for 2 minutes.

  3. Deglaze the pan with the chicken stock, then add both cans of tomatoes, Worcestershire sauce, bay leaves and hot sauce. Reduce heat and simmer for 20-25 minutes, stirring occasionally.

  4. Remove bay leaves. Add shrimp and cook until pink, just 3-4 minutes.

  5. Serve over hot Better than Rice and garnish with green onion.


5 Servings


Approximate Nutritional Information with Konjac Rice

Servings: 5


Calories: 330

Net Carbs: 6g

Total Carbs: 7g

Protein: 39g

Fat: 12g

Fiber: 1g

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page