top of page
  • lustforlifelowcarb

Low Carb Hot Pepper Strawberry “Jam”



My Mom made a comment the other day that “I’ve always loved condiments”... weird thing to say, but completely true! I love the flavors that different condiments can add to a dish. I like how it can change the dish from bite to bite depending on what I add to each bite. This Hot Pepper Strawberry “Jam” to me is more of a sauce which is perfect! That gives this sauce so much more flexibility in how I can use it. I can chose to have it for breakfast on a lovely piece of toasted Rosemary bread with goat cheese. Or I can serve it with a juicy nut encrusted chicken breast. Or I can use it to top my Low Carb Vanilla Bean ice cream, that recipe is on my blog too.

Now I’m wondering how yummy this will be with my Low Carb Coconut Macaroons.

I hope you’ll give this recipe a try, I know it takes a little more time investment, but you’ll have plenty to enjoy for weeks to come.

A few cooking tips:

-When handling peppers be careful the oils can burn your skin especially if you touch face or eyes. I learned that the hard way one time making salsa. I tried putting everything and just about anything on my skin to stop it from burning... ketchup, dish detergent, milk, ice, the only thing that worked for me TechNu which is a poison ivy wash to remove the oils from your skin. So now I don’t take any chances I use Food service gloves when handling them. -If you use frozen berries you will need to cook it longer as it will have excess water in the fruit. -Make sure you use the powdered sugar if you use the granule sweetener the sugar will recrystallize once it’s cooled down. Made that mistake too. Didn’t change the flavor, but it did provide a bit of texture. Lol. -If you don’t like spicy simply omit the peppers. Easy Peasy!



Hot Pepper Strawberry “Jam”


4 cups quartered fresh Strawberries

1/2 Lakanto powdered Monkfruit sweetener

2 TB freshly squeezed Lemon juice

1-2 large Jalapeño pepper, minced or

2-3 Serrano peppers, minced


-Wash, remove tops and quarter fresh strawberries. You can use frozen berries also may lengthen the cook time. -When mincing the peppers be careful the oils from the peppers can burn your skin. I actually wear food service gloves whenever I handle them. Remove stem and mince the pepper. Depending on how hot you like it determines whether you want to add the seeds or membrane from inside the peppers to the jam.

-Put the berries in a large pot I like to use one that is a little too big to give more surface for the berries to cook down. Slightly mash the berries, I used a potato masher, but a meat chopper works best. Pampered Chef has a great one it’s on my list to purchase.

-Add the rest of the ingredients and Stir well, I used a bamboo wooden spoon I think it’s easier on the berries. You can add more sweetener if you like it sweeter, but it will change the carb count.

-Bring to slow boil, then slowly turn down the heat a little at a time till it comes to a low simmer. Continue to cook down till it gets to the consistency of a thick sauce. Stir the jam fairly often. Should take approximately 45-60 mins to cook down depending on the thickness you prefer.

-Cool down before storing, it will thicken as it cools. You can keep it in the fridge or longer in the freezer.


Approximate Nutritional Information

Servings: 24 servings, total 3 cups

Serving Size: 2 TB

Calories: 10 g

Net Carbs: 1.9 g

Total Carbs: 2 g

Protein: 0.2 g

Fat: 0.1 g

Fiber: 0.7 g

Sugar: 5.3 g

35 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page