top of page
  • lustforlifelowcarb

Low Carb Samoa Mousse with Roasted Pecans


Welcome to my first official Live...Lust for Life post!



This dessert is so yummy with the light fluffy mousse, sweet topping and salty buttery pecans. Definitely hits everything I love in one dish. One of the hardest things about low carb living is giving up so many decadent desserts, this one is extremely satisfying and feels like you’re aren’t sacrificing a thing.

I used one of my treasured possessions to serve this dessert, a vintage glass stemmed ice cream bowl from my great grandfather’s restaurant, Jimmy’s Restaurant. He had a restaurant right here in my hometown, Havre de Grace, MD, during the depression where Goll’s Bakery is now. He lived to be 92 years old and was so much fun when I was a kid, I loved him very much. He still made homemade Baklava and played “aliens“ with my brother and I. He was almost always the alien that we had to escape, his cane gave him an extra long reach. I loved the way he taught me to say his last name... Yiannakis —. ”You and I kiss”.... Today I can imagine him using that line on my great grandmother when they met.

Below is a photo of Jimmy’s Restaurant, to the right is my great grandfather, my great grandmother, Sadie, and the little girl is my grandmother, Mary ‘s, older sister, Louise. I can remember my grandmother sharing with me that he never turned anyone away that was hungry whether they could pay or not. I think being an immigrant from Greece he understood the hardships people were going through on a personal level. I feel like I’m keeping his memory alive by sharing his story and using his dishes that he would have used almost 100 years ago!


I hope you enjoy the memory and dessert I’ve shared with you! Let me know in the comments if you try it what you think or how you make it your own!


Low Carb Samoa Mousse with Roasted Pecans


16 oz Heavy Cream

1 tsp Liquid Stevia

8 oz Cream Cheese softened


Topping:

3/4 cup Coconut flakes unsweetened

2-3 oz Choczero Caramel Sauce

2 oz Sugar Free Lily’s Milk Chocolate chips

3 tsp butter


Pour heavy cream and Stevia into a stand mixer on high until whipped. Taste and adjust sweetener to your tastes. Set aside in another bowl. Using the paddle blade attachment of the mixer blend cream cheese till smooth. Fold in the whipped cream by hand or on low With the mixer. Once smooth place into individual bowls. To make the topping stir together the coconut flakes and caramel sauce, spread as evenly as possible on the individual bowls.

Microwave the butter and chocolate chips together for 25 seconds at a time until melted. Stir well then drizzle over each serving. Refrigerate overnight for best results or at least 2-3 hours if you can’t wait!

My real life kitchen counter dividing up into the right sized portions for later...







33 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page