top of page
  • lustforlifelowcarb

Low Carb Hearty Beef & Vegetable Soup


Again, I can’t say enough how much I love home cooked soup! I make soup almost weekly, no matter the weather. However, it will depend on the weather what kind of soup I make... in the warmer months I usually make crab soup, or chicken tortilla soup...

Dealing with my fairly new diagnosis of Type 2 Diabetes I’m learning to listen to my body and that I need to eat earlier in the day. I’ve never really been one for eating early in the morning, but I find if I don’t, my sugar gets too low which can lead to me not feeling well. That leads to whole other struggle of “What to eat?”.... I need something quick, easy and that can be eaten on the go. My perfect solution is soup in a cup! I actually enjoy eating food outside it’s traditional timeframe... eggs for dinner, pizza for breakfast, ice cream for lunch, and soup for breakfast or brunch! This is a basic recipe that I’ll add to or change depending on what I have on hand. It has become a regular soup in the weekly soup rotation. Soup is probably the only thing I cook on a regular rotation.

This soup does take a little bit of time to make, it makes a big pot and is even better over the next few days as the flavors mingle and marry! I hope you’ll enjoy making your own additions!


Low Carb Hearty Beef & Vegetable Soup


1 1/2 lbs Beef stewing meat, I use sliced beef shanks

2 1/2-3 tbs Olive oil, divided

salt and freshly ground black pepper

1 3/4 c chopped Yellow onions (1 large)

1 c shredded Carrot

1 c chopped Celery (3 medium), I also like to add celery leaves

8 c low-sodium Beef broth broth

2 14 can 2 (14 oz.) diced Tomatoes

2 tsp dried Basil

1 tsp dried Oregano

1 tsp dried Thyme

1 bunch peeled Radish, chopped into 3/4-inch cubes

1 1/2 c (5 oz.) chopped or snapped Green beans (trim ends first)

1 1/2 c frozen Corn or fresh off the cob

1 1/2 TB dried Parsley

2 TB better than Beef bouillon

2-3 shake Worcestershire sauce Lea and Perrins

1 c chopped Baby Bella mushrooms


Directions

Heat 1 Tbsp olive oil in a large pot over medium-high heat.


Dab beef dry with paper towels, season with salt and pepper then add half of the beef to pot and brown about 4 minutes, turning halfway through. If using beef shank make a slice through the outside membrane to keep the slice from curling up.


Transfer to a plate add another 1/2 Tbsp oil to pot and repeat process with remaining half of beef.


Add another 1 Tbsp oil to now empty pot then add onions, carrots, mushrooms, and celery then sauté 2-3 minutes.


Pour in broth, bouillon, tomatoes, browned beef, green beans, basil, oregano, thyme, parsley, Worcestershire sauce, and season with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil then reduce heat to low, cover and simmer, stirring once or twice throughout, for 40-50 minutes until meat is tender and greens and desired softness.


Add in corn and radishes and simmer until heated through, about 20 minutes.

*Stir in parsley, if using fresh and serve warm.


*Optional:

-Sometimes I also add sliced kale or sliced cabbage, at the same time as the corn. I like the texture and flavor. I like to use whatever vegetables I have on hand

-I cook either barley or noodles on the side so that family add that starch as they may choose to have a heartier soup.

-I have also used whatever leftover broth I have available, I almost always have some saved from other dishes in the freezer.

I’ll add approximate nutritional info shortly.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page