top of page
  • lustforlifelowcarb

Day 6 Meal 2: ✅ Quick Leftover Low Carb Ham Bone Soup


I think I could honestly eat soup every day of the year, regardless of the weather. This is one of my favorites. I baked another ham this week just so I could make this soup. It’s a simple, but flavorful hearty soup that is filling, but not heavy. The recipe is pretty loose I add what I’m feeling at the time, but this is pretty much the basic recipe. If I feel like I’d like potato in the soup I add Kohlrabi, which hold its shape and is very close to potato, but doesn’t have anywhere near the carbs.

Feel free to make this soup your own by adding what you love!

Quick Leftover Low Carb Ham Bone Soup

-Leftover ham and bones

-2-3 stalks diced celery

-1 medium onion, chopped

-Leaves from the head of celery, chopped

-2-3 cups chopped kale, remove the stem

-14 1/2 oz can petite diced Tomatoes

-1 cup canned Tomato sauce

-Chicken broth and water, can use Chicken Better than Bouillon and just water

-2 tsp Basil

-1 tsp Onion salt

-1/2 tsp Garlic powder

-Salt

-Pepper

1. Place Ham bone and ham in pot with chicken broth and water to cover about 2-3” over the bones. Bring to high boil, turn down heat a bit to keep broth at a low boil/ high simmer for about 1 1/2 hours to break down collagen and get the most flavor.


2. Remove bones and ham from broth and set aside.


3. Add the can of petite diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, celery, onion, basil, onion salt, garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste.

4. Bring to a boil again. Turn down heat to medium high. Add celery leaves and kale leaves. Simmer for approximately 20 mins.


5. Dice up the ham and set aside. Add to soup and simmer for an additional 10 mins.


6. Add salt and pepper to taste.



7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page