top of page
  • Writer's pictureLust for Life

Low Carb Lemon Blueberry Donut with Lemon Icing and Fresh Blueberries

Updated: Jan 25, 2021

If I’m living the low carb life and giving up things I used to love and crave... this little yummy morsel makes it all alright! I don’t feel like I’m missing out at all.



This recipe was shared with me by one of my favorite people in the whole world,

Kathryn Loftis.


She sent me 3 sweet recipes to help when those sweet tooth cravings pop up.


This is a Lemon Blueberry Donut with Lemon Icing and fresh blueberries.


Yumm!


The glaze finishes the donut nicely and the fresh blueberries cut the sweetness. The recipe calls for a mini donut baking pan, but I had a small donut pan from



 

Low Carb Iced Lemon Blueberry Donut


Donut:

¼ Cup plain Greek Yogurt

6 TB Almond Flour

3 TB Coconut Flour

2 TB Truvia sweetener

2 TB Butter, softened

1 egg

1 tsp lemon extract

½ tsp baking powder

Pinch of salt

⅓ Cup frozen blueberries, I used fresh


Icing:

1 oz cream cheese, softened

2 TB butter, softened

2 TB Truvia

1/2 tsp lemon extract

1-2 TB heavy cream


1. Preheat oven to 350’

2. Combine all ingredients for batter except the blueberries and mix well. Spray don’t baking pan with Pam. Divide between 12 mini donut molds. Press a few blueberries into each donut mold. (I put in 4 I might do more next time.)

3. Bake for 25 mins

4. Meanwhile make the icing. Combine all icing Ingredients. Can use piping bag or ziploc with corner cut off to drizzle across donut. I spooned it on.

5. Cool the donuts off on a wire rack. Drizzle with icing.

6. Warm in oven or microwave, not enough to melt icing. ( microwave for 30 secs would be good)


Notes

I used small donut pan, not minis.

Small donut 2 carbs

Mini donut 1 carb.


Update: I kept these in the fridge. And heated it up 30 seconds in the microwave minus the blueberries on top. It was even better than the first time! The glaze melted into the donut so yummy!


 

21 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page