top of page
  • lustforlifelowcarb

Low Carb Hot Chocolate with Low Carb Vanilla Whipped Cream

I don’t love much about cold weather at all! But... I do love snuggling up in some fuzzy sweatpants on the couch with a big ol’ cup of hot chocolate topped with marshmallows, especially after being outside. I remember when my girls were much younger playing in the snow with them, sledding down the hill at the big park in town, and finishing off the day with some homemade hot chocolate while we thawed out. This past weekend was really busy, my husband and I spent some time out in the cold, naturally I wanted something to warm me up on the inside. I looked at a couple different recipes and made my own low carb hot chocolate. I haven’t figured out low carb marshmallows yet, but I did make low carb vanilla whipped cream to top it off. This Hot Chocolate is so rich and creamy that I don’t think my girls would know the difference, so don’t tell them their Mom has a new recipe.



Low Carb Hot Chocolate with Low Carb Vanilla Whipped Cream


3/4 cup unsweetened Almond Milk

3/4 cup Heavy Cream

1 TB unsweetened cocoa

1-2 tsp Monkfruit sugar-free sweetener, can use other Sugar substitute like Stevia

1 1/2 TB Lily’s Sugar-free chocolate chips, I used milk chocolate


Whipped cream ingredient:

1 1/4 cup Heavy Cream

1/2 Tsp liquid Stevia

1 tsp pure Vanilla extract


-Fit your processor with the whipping blade and place ingredients in the bowl. I have a small 3 cup Kitchenaid that works great, or you can use a hand mixer. -Process ingredients on high till soft peaks begin to form, about 2 - 2 1/2 mins.

-Chill the whipped cream while you make the hot chocolate.

-In a small saucepan, under medium heat, simmer the almond milk and heavy cream. Simmer for about 1-2 mins or till bubbles form along the edges of the pan. -When the milk is hot, remove from heat and whisk in cocoa, sweetener, and chocolate chips. Stir till chocolate is melted. -Serve with 1/4 cup of Vanilla Whipped Cream.

Some optional toppings: Ground Cinnamon, Shaved chocolate, powdered cocoa.

Serving Size-

3/4 cup Hot Chocolate Approximately: 148 calories; 12.2 g Fat; 4 Net Carbs= 12.3 Total carbs, 8g Fiber, Sugar 0.3; Protein 3.9g


1/4 cup Whipped Cream

102 Calories; 11 g Fat; 0.8 g Carbs; 0.6 g Protein

94 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page