top of page
  • lustforlifelowcarb

Low Carb Beef Stroganoff

Oh... my.... gosh....!

Low Carb Beef Stroganoff


This is definitely one of the best low carb dishes I’ve made yet!!


I had leftover Prime Rib roast from the other night I wanted to use up. Normally I would make a soup or something, but I wasn’t thinking and threw out the bones when I was cleaning up. So I decided to make Stroganoff. I have a cheater recipe that uses Cream of Mushroom soup. While the carb count isn’t bad I am continuing to challenge myself to keep looking for better low carb options.


I made my own cream of mushroom soup to make Stroganoff. Oh my, I could have stopped at the soup and been perfectly happy!


Low Carb Beef Stroganoff

5 net carbs per serving


2-3 TB butter

2 1/2 cups thinly sliced fresh mushrooms, I used half baby Bella and white

1/4 cup finely chopped onion

1/2 clove garlic, minced

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

¼ teaspoon dried thyme

2 cups chicken broth

1 cup heavy whipping cream

2 1/2 ozs cream cheese


1/3 cup sour cream

2-3 cups chopped leftover prime


1. Melt butter in a large, heavy saucepan over medium heat.

2. Add mushrooms, onion, and garlic; cook and stir until tender, about 10 minutes.

3. Add salt, pepper, and thyme; cook and stir until combined, about 1 minute.

4. Stir in chicken broth, heavy cream, and cream cheese.

5. Reduce heat to a low simmer.

6. Cook, stirring almost constantly, until flavors are well incorporated, about 25 minutes. I wound up with 2 1/2 cups of soup/ sauce


7. Once I made the soup I added 1/3 cup of sour cream continued cooking till it was hot and bubbly.

8. In a separate skillet I crisped up the prime rib in a little olive oil. At the end I stirred in the prime rib turned off the heat and let it sit on the warm burner.



24 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page