top of page
  • lustforlifelowcarb

Kohlrabi: What is it and what in the world do I do with it?


What is it and what do I do with it??


If this is what you're thinking you definitely aren't alone... This is a fairly new vegetable to me, but at the advice of one of my favorite farms at my local Farmer's Market I gave it a try. I'm glad that I did because it has been my go-to vegetable as a substitute for potatoes in soups. I hope you'll give this vegetable a try!

Soups that I've substituted Kohlrabi for Potatoes: Manhattan Clam Chowder, Ocracoke Clam Chowder, Zuppa Toscano, Ham and Bean Soup and a few others.


Kohlrabi

Kohlrabi is a crisp vegetable whose German name means “cabbage turnip”. It is a member of the Cabbage family and offers many of the same nutritional benefits.

It’s low in calories, loaded with Vitamin C, and potassium. High in fiber and antioxidants, it’s one of the veggies that can help fight cancer and heart disease.


This is not a common vegetable and can look intimidating. It has a tougher skin that can be pale green or purple. The leaves and bulb are both edible. Be sure to trim the outside fibrous skin to expose the white crisp flesh of the bulb. It can be sliced thin or julienned for your salad, roasted, stir fried, or my very favorite is it’s an excellent potato substitute in soups and stews. It holds its shape well, doesn’t take on very much water, and maintains a “potato” texture. The leaves can be similar to kale or collards, but not as bitter. They’re the most flavorful and tender if harvested in spring.



19 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page