top of page
  • lustforlifelowcarb

Low Carb Spicy Chicken Taco with Cauliflower Rice and Beans topped with Sunflower Sprouts

True Confessions #683……. I am a lover of and passionate about ALL things dealing with food. It’s true… I’ve come to terms with it and actually am quite ok with it.

I love to talk about food, learn about food, watch people make food, learn about cultures through food, grow food, buy food, take photos of food, I read cookbooks, share recipes…. Heck, I even like to watch people eat food and I enjoy watching them enjoying it. This actually sounds like I may need an intervention… but until then I’ll keep sharing my recipes here, hoping to inspire others to love what they create while taking care of themselves and to be more adventurous with food.

I’ve also come to realize that Mexican/ Southwest flavors are some of my very favorite dishes to create. If there were 2 paths to take 1 led me to tacos and the other led me to lasagna… I’d chose the Tacos path every single time! So when I found these ingredients and decided to make a quick and easy dish… it was love at first site. This dish is incredibly flavorful, completely satisfying and delicious… you will struggle to stop at just 1 Taco. I used fresh local ingredients, one of my other favorite things is to support local businesses. I feel like I’m doing my part to help people make their dreams come true. Alamadre is small family owned business out of California that has given my SW dishes new life! These low carb corn tortillas are the very best I’ve ever had in taste, texture and carb count.

Pancibus Chalsa is a small local company that I found at my hometown Farmer’s Market. I met the young man that created Chalsa a couple years ago, but every Saturday I see his sweet mom set up and proudly supporting her son’s dream. I make sure to always say Hi, even if I’m not restocking.

FreshSource Farms is a local farm that is incredibly passionate about what they do. Micro greens are a newer ingredient for me, so you’ll be seeing more of them show up in my dishes. Baja Cauliflower Rice and Beans is from my local Sprouts store. This will now be a staple ingredient at my house. I’ve said many times that I don’t enjoy cauliflower being substituted in dishes, it never tricks me… I know it’s cauliflower every time! But this is something all together different… it gives great texture and is a wonderful vehicle to carry all the flavor from the Chalsa And gives great body to your taco.


Those pretty little tomatoes are sourced locally from the tomato plants in my backyard. Aren’t they cute little things!


*I did make this on a smaller scale mostly because the rest of household does not love spicy food the way I do, but it could be easily doubled or tripled for a larger dinner or get together.

3 Alamadre Low Carb Corn Tortillas

1 cup Baja Style Cauliflower Rice and Beans from Sprouts

3 TB Pancibus Chalsa Original

3/4 cup Rotisserie Chicken, chopped or grilled chicken thinly sliced

Olive oil

Salt and Pepper

Shredded Mexican Cheese Blend

Fresh Tomato, chopped

Sunflower Sprouts


1. Fry up low carb corn tortillas in a lightly oiled skillet. Lightly fold in half and set aside.


2. Add Cauliflower rice and beans and Chalsa to the skillet and saute 3-4 mins. 3. Add chopped Chicken and sauté for another 2-3 minutes till all ingredients are heated through.

4. Remove from the heat.

5. Assemble your tacos to your preference and enjoy!


Approximate Nutritional Information

Servings: 3 Tacos

Serving Size: 1 Taco

Calories: 134

Net Carbs: 4.7g

Total Carbs: 9g

Protein: 13g

Fat: 4.3g

Fiber: 2.6g

Sugar: 3.5G

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page